Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hi im new to photography  (Read 3484 times)

vescaegg

Hi im new to photography
« on: June 29, 2006, 01:16:47 pm »

hi everyone. i recently returned from a 6 month backpacking trip around australia, new zeland and fiji. i was always interested in photography but havent really had the money to afford a decent camera. i bought a standard point and click digital and took as many photos as possible along the way, hoping to pick out the best when i got home.
its a 3.2 megapixel song dsc-p8, but nonetheless i think i got some alright shots. (probaly not up to any of your standards though) anyway i was just hoping for some critiques of them?

dont be too harsh please! any input would be great though.
im putting quite a few up! sorry! it mite take a while to load!
thanks!

kieran

[attachment=758:attachment]
[attachment=759:attachment]
[attachment=760:attachment]
[attachment=761:attachment]
[attachment=762:attachment]
[attachment=763:attachment]
[attachment=764:attachment]
[attachment=765:attachment]
[attachment=766:attachment]
[attachment=767:attachment]
[attachment=768:attachment]

Paul Sumi

Hi im new to photography
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2006, 08:20:37 pm »

kieran,

As a backpacker myself, I would not denigrate the camera you used.  Assuming that photography was NOT your primary goal, every ounce counts when one travels by foot and this camera would seem to fit the bill.

Of the images you've shared, these two attracted my attention:

[attachment=770:attachment]

[attachment=771:attachment]

Landscape photography is all about the light, and the coastal image is very atmospheric. The mountain reflection is graphically strong. Not saying either is perfect, but both have a lot of potential.