Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: focal lenghts and that damned crop factor  (Read 6190 times)

spidermike

focal lenghts and that damned crop factor
« on: June 22, 2006, 06:44:54 pm »

I am a relative newbie to this digital stuff and thought I had the crop-sensor thing licked on understanding how it affects the effective focal length of the lens. But now I am not so sure. This confusion is prompted by some recent posts (some threads still active) talking about sports photography or wildlife photography and how with the 20D the crop sensor gives you 'extra reach' with a 400mm lens (ie equivalent to using a 640mm lens).

Here is my understanding.

Let's ignore the sensor for a moment and consider the theoretical size of the image that would be projected onto the rear of the inside camera body if all the electrical gubbins wasn't in the way (let's call this the 'projected image') . Let us also assume a EF lens.
I understand that the said 'projected image' within a 20D camera would be exactly the same as in a 5D. The difference comes in what is detected by pixels (call this the 'pixel image'): the crop sensor (20D) is smaller than the full sensor (5D), so less of the 'projected image' is converted into 'pixel image' - equivalent to zooming in. Indeed, a 20mm lens+ 20D will produce the same field of view as a 32mm+5D. So the 1.6 crop factor is relevant.

But what about the resolution?
We would use a 640mm lens (if one existed) in place of a 400mm lens simply because it increases the effective size of the 'projected image'.
But if you use a 400mm on a 20D it will not give a larger image pixel image than on the 5D: the actual image size of the ear will be the same on both and you will see no more detail of individual hairs on the ear using the 20D than using the 5D.
Conclusion: using a 400mm lens on the 20D is NOT the same as using a 640mm lens on the 5D.