Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 7900 - clogged or defective print head  (Read 9160 times)

cliff0108

Epson 7900 - clogged or defective print head
« on: September 01, 2016, 02:59:57 pm »

I am new to this forum and hope I'm posting in the right place.
I am an hobbiest photographer and own an Epson 7900 which I print on maybe once a week. Every morning however I print out a nozzle check to prevent clogging.
In the past week I notice approximately 3 lines in middle of the nozzle pattern of Vivid Magenta to be blank. I undertook normal cleaning, 2 power cleans, several SS Maintenance cleans and several attempts at the "Windex method" - so far to no avail.
I contacted Epson and eventually spoke to their technician. In order to diagnose whether this is a persistant clog or a print head failure he would have to travel out (45 miles to my residence) at a minimum cost of approximately $400-$500. If it is a head failure the repair costs are of course prohibitive. If a clog then maybe he can fix that or I can continue with what I'm doing.
Looking at some of the postings I thought maybe someone might be able to give me some advice. I'll attach the nozzle pattern in case that helps.
Thanks, Cliff

DeanChriss

• http://www.dmcphoto.com
Re: Epson 7900 - clogged or defective print head
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2016, 03:24:34 pm »

In doing all of those cleanings, did the nozzle check pattern change or did it remain the same from start to finish? If it remained the same I'd say you have a head problem.