Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using Indesign for Portfolio Layout  (Read 1479 times)

Analogue_Rob

• Rob Youngson Photography
Using Indesign for Portfolio Layout
« on: August 28, 2016, 12:52:56 pm »

Hi all,

I'll be posting a fair bit over the coming months as i'm fairly new to printing and am putting together my printed portfolio. So forgive my learning curve and thanks in advance!

I have seen a lot on LL about ImagePrint but I already have Indeisgn and can't spend on more software. I am using it to design and re-design and re-design my layout. So far i'm enjoying that part. However I want to make sure I get the best quality possible, I am exporting from lightroom as TIFFS in to Indesign and plan to print from indesign through my Epson 3880 on to Hahnmuhle Album paper (double sided)

Firstly, is there anything I should watch out for exporting from lightroom and importing in to Indesign.
What might trip me up printing from Indesign (should i somehow export back to lightroom to make use of the print module or something similar?)

Would love to hear others experiences!

Many thanks,

Rob

Rob Youngson - Unit Stills Photographer by Day, Analogue Photographer by Night www.robyoungsonphotography.com - Instagram/Twitter - @unitstillsrob

huluvu

Re: Using Indesign for Portfolio Layout
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2016, 02:55:52 pm »

Hi Rob,

I'm going the exact same route for printing my portfolio: My digital RAW files are edited in LR and then exported as 16bit TIFs in ProPhotoRGB profile at 360ppi. I then arrange the TIFs in my InDesign layout and print from there using my Stylus Pro 7880.

Some random tips:
-be sure to convert your .indd file to ProPhotoRGB too
-in the InDesign printing dialog, deactivate color management for ID and let the printer (driver) do its thing – same as printing from PS