Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: File renaming problem  (Read 5591 times)

Brookie

File renaming problem
« on: August 14, 2016, 10:12:18 pm »

OK, so I messed up and had my camera date set with the wrong year - 2015 instead of 2016 - dumb I know, but easy enough to do. I imported them to LR before I realized the problem. When I imported them I used a custom file renaming scheme that uses the date as part of the file name. So now I have a bunch of photos that list in 2015 folders instead of the correct year of 2016.

It is easy to change the folder name, but I am having trouble figuring out how to rename the individual photo files with the date corrected to 2016. Searches for file renaming all find info for renaming groups of files (photos) during importing. 

1-I just want to change 2015 to 2016 in the file name - how do I do that? 
2-Also do I need to change the year in the metadata and how do I do that? 

Thanks for any help. I'm still brand new at this.  :o

Farmer

Re: File renaming problem
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2016, 11:30:14 pm »

If you're on Windows, then http://www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/ is an awesomely useful utility (even with Directory Opus, which, if you're on Windows and not using you're mad! :-) ).

If you're on OS X, sorry, not sure :(
Phil Brown

Brookie

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2016, 11:45:00 pm »

I should have mentioned I'm working on a Mac.

Thanks though....

Scott Hein

• Hein Natural History Photography
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2016, 12:00:00 am »

I use John Beardsworth's Search and Replace plugin as described in this link:

http://lightroomsolutions.com/complex-file-renaming-in-lightroom-thanks-to-search-and-replace/

-Scott

Brookie

« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2016, 01:36:26 pm »

Scott,
That looks interesting. Thank you for the suggestion.

john beardsworth

• My photography site
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2016, 02:15:44 pm »

Do you have Bridge?