Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Beta 3 REALLY slow  (Read 18603 times)

msbc

Beta 3 REALLY slow
« on: June 13, 2006, 07:18:41 pm »

This is my first try at LightRoom. Is it me or do others find Beta 3 so slow that it's almost unusable?

I imported, by ref, approx 1500 5D CR2 RAW's. On the Develop tab I find making any change takse a long time e.g. choosing a different white balance setting from the drop down - approx 4 seconds. My machine is a G5 Dual 2.0 with 4GB RAM.
Mark Connell
Melbourne, Australia

61Dynamic

• http://
Beta 3 REALLY slow
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2006, 07:54:02 pm »

It can take some time for LR to build the cache which can cause slowdowns if you try to use it at the same time. Look at the top right and make sure there is no processes occurring while you work.

msbc

Beta 3 REALLY slow
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2006, 07:56:24 pm »

It can take some time for LR to build the cache which can cause slowdowns if you try to use it at the same time. Look at the top right and make sure there is no processes occurring while you work.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=68124\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Hi Daniel,

Yes, I checked that. After importing I closed and restarted LightRoom - no other processes were happening when I started exploring the Develop tab.
Mark Connell
Melbourne, Australia

situgrrl

• http://www.charlyburnett.com
Beta 3 REALLY slow
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2006, 04:26:46 am »

Beta 3 seems a world faster than 2 on my Macbook Pro - I get the impressions that LR is fairly hardware intensive at the moment and Jeff's article suggests there won't be a massive improvement until v1 is out...

I just changed the WB on a random file shot with an olympus e1 - took less than a second.  I've got a MBP with 2.16 ghz and only 1 gig RAM. I know the file size is smaller but surely not that much?!

francois

Beta 3 REALLY slow
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2006, 05:35:39 am »