Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Snow Canyon  (Read 1572 times)

mseawell

• Mark Seawell's Photo World
Snow Canyon
« on: August 04, 2016, 11:44:43 pm »

Snow Canyon, Utah. Our first trip to this remote area close to St George. If you haven't been to southern Utah in summer I can tell you one word: hot! We were camping with some friends at Pine Valley in the mountains and this made a huge difference in our experience. But we were promised a hike so we departed for Snow Canyon and arrived around 8.30 in the morning. Thunder storms the night before had cleared the air. The heat had begun and we were in a race against time before it hit triple digits. So though the trail which was more of a rock garden than anything else. Beautiful cacti along the path and some interesting trees but nothing to get excited about. After about an hour of hiking I was left behind because well, I'm a photographer :) Up ahead I heard voices grow louder with excitement and my wife's voice was the loudest. After catching up I saw why. There it stood suddenly, this gaping maw of a place. The beautiful Navajo reds and whites were stunning and it all seemed to stretch towards infinity. One of our friends grew up in the area before moving to northern Utah and she knew this place inside out. I finally picked my mouth off the ground to capture this place, so hidden but so in your face. Snow Canyon was definitely worth the sweat and we look forward to returning in the winter.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2016, 11:50:48 am by mseawell »

Paulo Bizarro

• http://www.paulobizarro.com
Re: Snow Canyon
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2016, 03:51:37 am »

Looks like a great location.

francois

« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2016, 06:33:07 am »

Great write-up and another outstanding shot.
Francois

Eric Myrvaagnes

• http://myrvaagnes.com
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2016, 09:15:18 am »

Great write-up and another outstanding shot.
+1.

I look forward to the winter version, with snow!