Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Looking for my first editing monitor  (Read 4738 times)

Brookie

Looking for my first editing monitor
« on: July 08, 2016, 11:45:02 pm »

So i'm still a relative newbie to digital photog, but i am considering getting a monitor to go with my new MBP15.  I've been doing a lot of reading and am thinking of maybe an ASUS PA249Q or a BenQ SW2700PT.  I'd like to hear if anyone has any experience with either of those (particularly with a newer MBP).  One article i read on the ASUS said the dark end of the gray scale was only so-so.  I'll be doing both color and B&W.  Also, i don't expect to have a quality printer anytime soon (if ever) so i am not sure i really need Adobe RGS color coverage - still i'm leaning towards it. 

Although digital is relatively new for me, photography isn't (I used to do a bunch of 4x5 landscape work).  However, i set that down for quite a few years for a variety of reasons.  Now getting back into photography and giving digital a try.  So i guess i'd categorize myself as "enthusiast level" with a lot to learn about digital - LOL!!!

Anyway, i'd be curious to know if most of you use specialized graphics monitors or just make do with a standard screen.  If most people calibrate their screens.  Which monitors, if any, you'd recommend and what you think of the two that i've mentioned. 

Too many questions for one post, but hey, its Friday night and i'm thinking about it.

Thanks all!
Dave

Benny Profane

Re: Looking for my first editing monitor
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2016, 08:44:16 am »

If you have no immediate plans to print, a lower end "high end" monitor like the two you mentioned are fine. You'll never really see that issue you mentioned. Your first priority is to learn Photoshop, which won't happen overnight, so, do that, and consider your options in a year or two. Do learn to calibrate that monitor, though.