Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dye ink vs Pigment ink - Safety  (Read 6303 times)

citilayer

Dye ink vs Pigment ink - Safety
« on: May 20, 2016, 07:29:51 am »

Dear all,

As I have limited knowledge, could you share your opinions on the safety of dye inks vs pigment inks for human skin. Which one would be safer? Are both types of printer inks generally non-toxic?

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Dye ink vs Pigment ink - Safety
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2016, 09:30:27 am »

You can find the Material Safety Data Sheets for inks on most manufacturers web sites.  This will let you know what if any safety issues there might be with the inks. Both types of ink contain dyes.  The pigment inks encapsulate the dyes in a polymer matrix.  The other safety consideration are the glycol solvents that are used in the formulation.  These tend to cause eye and skin irritation.  In their MSDNs Epson say to avoid contact with skin and eyes.  If on the skin, wash with soap and water; seek medical attention if irritation occrurs.

I'm not sure as to the reason for this question but skin exposure should be avoided and clearly in the course of normal printing there would not be any.

alan

citilayer

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2016, 11:20:37 am »

Thank you Alan :) got it

picman

« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2016, 04:33:53 pm »

Kind of curious, what about aerosols and evaporating solvents?
Does all the ink aimed at the paper stay on the paper?

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2016, 08:10:53 pm »

No doubt some of it is in the air. All Epson prints outgas some of the glycol over time, (you can see this on RC prints by the fogging on the glass), however I believe that a room with good ventilation should be fine.  No so sure on the solvent printers, I have been to a couple of shops running the large 60" size and the smell was no pleasant. 

As far as inkjet, Epson, it would be safe to assume some of the glycol is passing to the air during the printing.