Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A Cultural Phenomenon?  (Read 1506 times)

Redcrown

A Cultural Phenomenon?
« on: May 13, 2016, 04:36:51 pm »

I'm curious about a phenomenon I've seen over several years as I've photographed cultural events.

I'm a "non-commercial" photographer. I go to cultural festivals, photograph the activities, and post the results in my SmugMug galleries. I provide free, high resolution images for download. I do it for fun, not for profit, and I've been doing it for over 10 years. All the festivals but one show appreciation of my efforts and interest in the photos.

In my area, the annual events include two Asian festivals, a Latino festival, an American Indian festival, a Renaissance Faire, a Civil War reenactment, and a Dutch "Tulip Time" festival.

After each festival, I contact the organization via e-mail or their Facebook page. I thank them for their efforts and give the link to the SmugMug galleries. I tell them they can use any of the images in their promotions, and ask that they share the link with participants.

Those that respond thank me for my support, and share the links. I see the results in my website traffic. The Asian festivals generate significant traffic. The Latino festival and Civil War group are a close second. The American Indian and Renaissance Faire groups show reasonable interest, but less than the others.

But the Dutch "Tulip Time" organization has never responded to my contacts. I've covered their festival 6 times in the last 9 years. I've never heard back from them, and see no traffic to the gallery. Of course I'm a little miffed at being ignored, but I'd really like to understand why.

Do some cultures embrace imagery more or less than others? Do some tend to dismiss outsiders?

Slobodan Blagojevic

• When everyone thinks the same, nobody thinks
    • My website
Re: A Cultural Phenomenon?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 06:10:47 pm »