Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommendations for Portrait Lighting Books?  (Read 3331 times)

Steve Miller

Recommendations for Portrait Lighting Books?
« on: May 23, 2006, 03:42:21 pm »

I've been shooting photos for 30 years (digital since 2000) and want to expand my horizons and understand studio lighting. Are there any must read books on the subject? Good starting places on the web?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions,

Steve

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2006, 10:13:03 am »

I have found "Light science and Magic" from Fil Hunter and Paul Fuqua to be a great reference on lighting.

Portrait is only a small part of it, and there are probably more specialized books that offer more examples of what can be done, but this reference provides very solid basics on lighting and might be a good place where to start from.

It doesn't really cover the specifics of digital shooting though, but 95% is still completely relevant.

Regards,
Bernard

Steve Miller

« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2006, 08:32:29 pm »

I have found "Light science and Magic" from Fil Hunter and Paul Fuqua to be a great reference on lighting.

Portrait is only a small part of it, and there are probably more specialized books that offer more examples of what can be done, but this reference provides very solid basics on lighting and might be a good place where to start from.

It doesn't really cover the specifics of digital shooting though, but 95% is still completely relevant.

Regards,
Bernard
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66446\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Bernard,