Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Standard vs Parabolic Umbrella?  (Read 13016 times)

JoeKitchen

Standard vs Parabolic Umbrella?
« on: March 19, 2016, 10:49:35 am »

I have never used a parabolic umbrella before.  What are the main advantages of using one over a standard umbrella?

What is the light like?  Spread? 
"Photography is one percent inspiration and ninety-nine percent

UlfKrentz

• http://www.shoots.de
Re: Standard vs Parabolic Umbrella?
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2016, 07:45:00 pm »

The difference might be less significant than you expect. In general there is less spill (as parabolics are deep) and they have a slightly focussed output with high efficiency, resulting in less power->shorter flash duration. They produce a clean, round shape as catchlight, well suited for beauty, less for still photography. There are nearly as many different models as with conventional umbrellas and all slightly vary from their light characteristic. Think about the crispness of a standard reflector but due to its size softer shadows, some models have a multifaceted shadow which at least for my taste is not desirable, especially for stills, might work good on fabrics though. The bigger ones can be used as fill light, I´m sure some use them just to look cool 8)

Ellis Vener

• http://www.ellisvener.com
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2016, 12:24:42 pm »

"I'm sure some use them just to look cool "

Bingo!

jazzy

« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2016, 01:39:37 pm »

In a way its the same with medium format digital. The difference in quality is not major, but it is there. And it's definitely also about the professional image. Small differences can help bring in clients, I guess.

JoeKitchen

« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2016, 01:50:06 pm »

Thanks Ulf and Ellis. 

Ahhh ... the good old sex appeal!