Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is it practical to buy or borrow ICC profiles for Canon 5DS R and DxO Optics Pro  (Read 3173 times)

earlybird

Hi,
 When I got my Canon 5DS R last summer I was more or less compelled to make my own color profile for use with Adobe Camera RAW. I learned a lot and finally assembled a dual illuminant DNG Profile using Color Checker, DNG Profile Maker, and dcpTool. It has worked pretty well as a general purpose camera profile.

I just started learning how to use DxO OpticsPro and will probably buy a license for it. I really enjoy its noise reduction but the color rendition seems like it could be better.

I have been reading a few things about making ICC profilee for Capture One but not much info for DxO Optics Pro. It's not a great time for me to divert attention to making profiles so I am wondering; has anyone has made some that they sell or share? If not, how about a tutorial for use with DxO Optics pro and its standard lighting response? I tried an .icm that alterego posted, in the Capture One forum section, which he offered as suitable for experimenting with Capture One and it is extremely dark in DxO Optics Pro unless I push up the lighting parameters. DxO has lots of tutorials but they all seem sort of cursory in nature. so I haven't really figured out what is "normal" in terms of using the various lighting parameters. I am struggling to "de-reference" my Adobe Camera RAW expectations. For example; The highlights and shadows parameters in DxO seem much more dramatic than what I use in ACR.

Any thoughts?

Thank you.

one iota

Hi earlybird,

I have been disappointed with the colour rendering applied by DxO to my 5Ds files. While it is excellent for lens corrections and noise reduction it falls way behind the other three of my raw converters in colour rendition. It's also a bit weird when it comes to dealing with extreme highlights and it certainly shifts saturation when you push the shadow and highlight sliders.