Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Focus shift with the Nikon 14-24. How do I recognize it? How do I avoid it?  (Read 3095 times)

hassiman

I was wondering if any of you would be kind enough to explain Focus shit to me.  I am new to the Nikon 14-24 for my D810.  Just wondering when it becomes a problem and how I can work around it?  Does AF not work properly at certain focal lengths?

Bart_van_der_Wolf

I was wondering if any of you would be kind enough to explain Focus shit to me.  I am new to the Nikon 14-24 for my D810.  Just wondering when it becomes a problem and how I can work around it?  Does AF not work properly at certain focal lengths?

Hi,

Focus shift is the shift of the (thin) plane of optimal focus when the aperture is changed (usually compared with wide open). Since most focus systems focus with the aperture fully opened, it can be an issue if the focus plane shifts enough and also changes the DOF zone too much (can result in front- or back-focus, despite correctly focusing on some features).

This is not to be confused with a perceived change in curvature of field which is usually most prominent towards the edges. It's usually not (much) affected by stopping down, but edges just gets more acceptably focused due to more DOF, and some residual aberrations get reduced at moderate apertures.

Cheers,
Bart
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

AFairley

What I did with the Nikon 28mm f1.8G, which is reputed to exhibit focus shift, was to focus at my most common shooting aperture (f8) on a target attached to a picket fence angling away from me down the sidewalk.  Easy to see where the true point of focus fell along the fence, and then use AF fine tune to adjust so true focus would fall on the target.  With a zoom you'd have to settle on a specific focal length or split the difference among two or more.  BTW, I don't know if your lens is subject to noticeable focus shift.

AreBee

hassiman,