Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie troubleshooting questions  (Read 4081 times)

mrnikkel

Newbie troubleshooting questions
« on: March 07, 2016, 12:14:45 pm »

Sorry if these are pretty basic questions. I'm fairly new to printing and I've run into two problems.

First, when printing on Canson Infinity Baryta Photographique, I'm getting colors much darker and more saturated than what I'm seeing on my monitor (and on other papers). I'm printing on an Epson P600. My monitor is color calibrated with a Datacolor Spyder. I downloaded the ICC profile from the Canson site and have the paper type set to Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster, per the recommendation. I have Lightroom set to perceptual color conversion for printing. What am I missing here?

Second, I purchased a roll of Epson Premium Photo Paper Luster. Unfortunately I didn't realize Espson doesn't have a color profile for this paper for my printer. Are there any other sources where I might be able to find a color profile for this printer/paper combination? (I know you can make your own, but I don't have a tool for it, and it would probably just be cheaper for me to buy a different type of paper if that's my only option).

Thanks

howardm

Re: Newbie troubleshooting questions
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 12:44:30 pm »

#1   Most likely cause is that you did NOT turn off color management in the printer driver.  You can't have 2 things trying to do the color mamangment.

#2  You dont say if you're on Windows or Mac but the profiles do exist *somewhere*, on the Mac, they are buried in the printer driver area.  I'd expect Windows to be similar.

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 12:56:29 pm »