Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MacBook Pro for LightroomCC ?  (Read 3767 times)

Brookie

MacBook Pro for LightroomCC ?
« on: March 04, 2016, 10:26:15 am »

I am still new to serious digital photography.  I did a lot of LF film work back in the day, but for a variety of reasons let the hobby dwindle until recently when I finally got a decent digital camera.  So I am going to start subscribing to LightroomCC too.  But before I do this, I am also considering shifting from a PC to an Apple.  With that in mind, I have a couple questions:

1 - For those of you who have worked with Lightroom in both PC and Apple, do you have a preference and why?
2 - For those of you who work with a MacBook, which model do you prefer and why?

RikkFlohr

• Adobe, Inc. - Photography Products
    • Rikk Flohr's Website
Re: MacBook Pro for LightroomCC ?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 10:45:59 am »

I work daily in Windows 10 and El Capitan - fairly evenly divided in time between the two. I have no preference between the two platforms for Lightroom usage.

If stranded on a desert island and only have one computer, it would be the Win 10 box. I have certain software that isn't available for Mac that is mission critical.  (assuming my mission still exists on the desert island)

For your second question, I use a MBPr 15 inch with 16GB of Ram. It is a 2013 vintage and performs quite nicely. It falls in speed between my 4 YO HP system and the new custom built system I threw together last month. In a pinch I can do all my LR-related work on it with no loss of productivity.
Rikk Flohr
Quality Engineer Customer Advocate - Photography Products
Adobe

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 11:20:22 am »

Same,

I use a Macbook pro in the field, with bootcamp and win 7, but I prefer the Mac OS on the laptop.  LR works seamlessly between win7 and Mac.  I use PC win7 for all my printing and main studio processing work.