Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: seeking advice: Mamiya RZ 67 pro iid vs. AFD or ??  (Read 1022 times)

kimberlygill

seeking advice: Mamiya RZ 67 pro iid vs. AFD or ??
« on: February 29, 2016, 06:04:43 am »

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to your community, so quick introduction before my question. I have been photographing for about 6 years casually (some free-lance portraiture work) and have decided to go back to school for my masters in photography this fall. I've been using a Mamiya 7ii, which I adored, since I love working with medium format film, and for portraiture and even landscapes, I find this camera just beautiful. However, I just destroyed it thanks to a wave in Indonesia and now a repairman in France is offering me 300 euros for parts. I need to buy a new camera and am debating between the RZ 67 pro iid and the AFD.

I'm going back to school, so my budget is minimal (max 3,000 euros though willing to get used materials obviously, in good condition) but I really would like to still with Mamiya, I know it well, love it, and trust it. I want something with both film and digital capacity. I prefer film but I think at school and professionally, digital will be necessary. It seems like the RZ 67 is best for portraiture, primarily sticking in studio whereas the AFD is a better all around camera. I'm considering it also because even though I'm more drawn to the RZ for it's reviews on portraiture, the AFD has a movie capabilities (and the digital/film back options), which ultimately means it has the 3 main functions I need in one camera, plus is more portable. I don't want to always have to be tethered.

Maybe, I am answering my own question but I wanted to throw this question out to you all for your advice with these materials and acknowledging that I have a lot of experience with the 7ii but not these other two. Is there something I'm missing, that I should be considering?

I thank you in advance for your thoughts.

Theodoros