Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: A little rusty and need some advice  (Read 1678 times)

switters

A little rusty and need some advice
« on: February 21, 2016, 05:46:32 pm »

Hi everyone,

After a few years hiatus I am again dipping my toe in the water of inkjet printing. I just bought myself a new P600, and am printing from both Photoshop and Lightroom and using an iMac 5k monitor.

I have a couple of questions:

1) I'm somewhat bewildered by all of the new paper options. Can someone recommend a good Bartya/fiber paper, and one matte paper? I have a feeling I'd benefit from choosing just a couple and sticking with them while I get back into the swing of things. You know, limit the variables.

2) I read Ctein's post suggesting that printer profiles are "obsolete", as well as the thread here discussing it. I'm quite confused. I'm not very experienced, and realistically I don't have a ton of time to devote to this. Would it be better for me to stick with Epson papers and use "Printer manages colors". If I do use "Printer manages colors", do I need to limit myself to Epson papers, or can I use other papers and then just choose the closest Epson paper?

3) Do I need to profile the iMac 5k monitor, and is it even possible?

Thanks for your help!

hugowolf

Re: A little rusty and need some advice
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 07:00:02 pm »

Just get sample packs from Canson and/or Hahnemuhle and try the papers for yourself. Paper is personal. If you get twenty replies, you will get twenty different suggestions.

No, you don't have to stick to Epson papers. Download the profiles to go with the sample papers.

Yes, you should calibrate your monitor, or the profiles would be almost as good as obsolete.

Brian A

switters

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2016, 10:48:21 pm »

Will do on sample pack.

Re: calibration. Lloyd Chambers wrote an article a while back (don't have the URL) where he argued that it is not possible to truly calibrate an iMac 5k.