Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: on location thethering - Phase One  (Read 5484 times)

Endeavour

on location thethering - Phase One
« on: February 17, 2016, 09:09:51 am »

I have a workstation with firewire which can be used to tether my P30+ back, and this seems to work ok (although capture one doesnt seem to detect the lens on my Hasseblad H1) but its a beast of a machine. and not very portable

But what about on location or in a remote studio? I have a pretty powerful laptop, but unfortunately that neither has a firewire port, nor a PC slot to use a firewire card in :(

If I wanted a portable tethering solution, where should I be looking? an old mac with firewire/thunderbolt (I've never used a mac before) or a cheap firewire compatible laptop which I can throw some memory at and an SSD to improve performance?

I wont be doing on-set editing/processing of the images, just initial capture and review - so I'm hoping I wont need a super powerful GPU

Kumar

• http://www.bskumarphotography.com
Re: on location thethering - Phase One
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 09:17:42 am »

Not as portable as a laptop, but how about running Windows on a Mac Mini via Boot Camp? You'll need a small display as well, and will work wherever AC power is available.

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 09:48:23 am »

To take advantage of tethering with a P+, back, you need firewire, so that puts you into a Mac hardware platform.  I guess there are some windows laptops out there on the used market that had a firewire port, but for your needs I would consider staying with Mac.