Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Choosing a New Telephoto Lens  (Read 4542 times)

Evolution

Choosing a New Telephoto Lens
« on: May 04, 2006, 09:46:49 pm »

Hi everyone,

I am an amateur sports and artistic photographer (some examples of my non-sports work can be found here) and I plan on buying a solid telephoto lens for outdoor sports photography (football, baseball, etc.) for my Canon 20D. I don't usually use tripods (but I do use monopods on occasion), I'd rather go hand held.

With this in mind I found two lenses that should work for me, but I can't choose:

1. Canon 70-300mm EF f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens
   $624.99

I was thinking about this lens because it has image stabilization and is 100mm longer than the other lens I was considering; however, I had heard of blur problems when in portrait mode, as well as a lower quality.

2. Canon 70-200mm EF F4 L USM Zoom Lens
   $699.99

I have also heard great things about the L series lenses, especially about their sharpness and quality (which would be more important to me than an extra 100mm, if the difference is that noticeable); however by getting this lens I would lose 100mm of zoom and IS.

Any help, comments, or other lens suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

macgyver

« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2006, 10:02:41 pm »

The IS isnt all that helpful for sports shooting.  Ideally you will be shooting fast enough shutter speeds that it wont be of any use.  It's great to have overall, but less so for action photography.

Not trying to spend your money, but what about the Sigma 70-200 f/2.8?  It's about 200 more, but for sports, the extra stop is also a requirement.  (unless you always shoot outdoors durring the day)

Any idea what sort of sports you will shoot?
« Last Edit: May 04, 2006, 10:03:08 pm by macgyver »

kbolin

• http://www.bolinphoto.com
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2006, 10:05:38 pm »