Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Phase One's IQ3 100mp Digital Back - quick opinion  (Read 4578 times)

gagemanning

Phase One's IQ3 100mp Digital Back - quick opinion
« on: January 31, 2016, 09:49:42 am »

I don't post much on this forum and I don't get into the technical stuff too much (I think it's way to subjective) but I just wanted to give a quick opinion on Phase's new 100mp sensor. 
First, I'm not a professional photographer and don't pretend to be one.  I've been shooting with the 100mp DB for couple weeks now and I'm completely floored on how excellent the IQ is.  Even though, it's still a large camera, being able to shoot at high ISO's and still have fantastic IQ allows the camera to go beyond being used only on tripods and for studio work.  I stick the waist viewfinder on it and it's actually very easy to carry around. 
The live view for landscape use is also fantastic.  When the wifi works, using your iPhone or iPad to view images in the field or in live view also are very helpful.
I'm sure as time goes, we'll see more and more reviews and experiences with the new 100mp digital back.  I just wanted to give my first quick thoughts of using this marvelous machine.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Re: Phase One's IQ3 100mp Digital Back - quick opinion
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2016, 10:33:30 am »

No doubt it's going to be considered a winner.

One question, you mention, "when the wifi works", does that mean that the same connections issues are still around like with the IQ2 backs?  Adhoc, connection, not working or syncing or getting a connection to stay connected? If so that's sad as Phase has had quite a while to work on that issue.

Thanks
Paul
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

gagemanning

« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2016, 12:07:37 pm »