Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photographing on the River, Guilin, China  (Read 2907 times)

plattners

Photographing on the River, Guilin, China
« on: May 02, 2006, 07:54:34 pm »

Although I hadn't planned on it, it now looks as if I will be going to China--Shanghai for the most part. But I will have 3-4 days to go to Guilin in Guangxi Province to photograph the fishermen, mountains, river etc. at Guilin.

I have seen some spectacular photographs made along the river there.

I would appreciate any advice on how to proceed there. Does anyone know of a guide familiar with photography who can take someone to the right places at the right times? Is it crowded in late May? Hot? Best times of day to photograph. Any hotels you'd care to recommend? Restaurants? As you can see, I am just getting into this and need to learn as much as possible quickly.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

NicoChina

• nicolasharter.com
Photographing on the River, Guilin, China
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2006, 04:04:52 am »

Hi, i'm french, living in China for about one year now and i have been to Guilin in May

You should take the boat or some bus to go to Yangshuo, this is a smaller place, and much more interesting for pictures. The classic tour consist of a tourist boat trip from Guilin to Yangshuo, but if you don't have much time you can take some bus (about 1h instead of the whole day, and much cheaper) and go directly to Yangshuo.