Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Historic Trueth House Oella, Maryland (US)  (Read 1609 times)

Bob_B

• It's all about light
    • Robert Belas Photography
Historic Trueth House Oella, Maryland (US)
« on: January 25, 2016, 11:08:08 am »

I live less than a mile from the Benjamin Banneker Historical Park in Oella, Maryland. The park is named after the first African American man of science, and its museum exhibits chronicle Banneker’s contributions as a largely self-taught mathematician, astronomer, almanac writer, surveyor, abolition advocate and naturalist during the late 1700s. It's a small parcel of land, but rich in so many things. I go there often to see birds that I am unlikely to see at home and to photograph the architecture and landscape.

I particularly enjoy the the Treuth House (c. 1849-1851). Also known as the Joshua Hynes House, the house is a three-story, five-bay by two-bay granite ashlar structure, with partly dressed and partly coursed rubble stone on the remaining walls. It has a gable roof on standing-seam metal with a ridge and an interior brick chimney on each end. On the particular late autumn afternoon I visited, the sun had just started to emerge from the clouds. It made for a bit of drama, and imparted a 'presence' that complemented the building.

Here are two photographs from that day. I hope you enjoy them. I welcome comments (and criticism), and thank you for looking.

Robert Belas Photography
www.belasphoto.com

Brad Smith

Re: Historic Trueth House Oella, Maryland (US)
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2016, 11:44:24 am »

It's nice to see vertical verticals without object distortion. I think I like the B&W better with its views of the decorative cornices.

Bob_B

• It's all about light
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2016, 02:22:30 pm »

Thanks Brad. I spent some time in PS working out the perspective issues, and I'm glad to hear it was noticed. BTW, I like the B/W version also.
Robert Belas Photography
www.belasphoto.com

thierrylegros396