Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Macro Reversing Ring ... anyone tried this?  (Read 1673 times)

Robert Ardill

• Images of Ireland
Macro Reversing Ring ... anyone tried this?
« on: January 08, 2016, 07:17:32 pm »

Hi, I wonder if anyone has tried reversing a wide-angle lens for macro photography?  Specifically, I'm interested in using a 52mm Fotodiox reversing ring with a Loxia 21mm lens on a Sony A7II or A7RII: Fotodiox Reversing Ring for Sony e-Mount

I would expect that this would work at least in principle, but 21mm may be too short and might require an extension, perhaps one of these: Fotodiox extension tubes for Sony E-Mount

The extension tubes might be useful anyway, giving extra magnification to, for example, my 55mm Sonar.

I've never tried this before so I would very much welcome any and all advice!

Robert
Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it. - George Santayana

Zorki5

• AOLib
Re: Macro Reversing Ring ... anyone tried this?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 03:34:10 am »

Lots of people do "serious" macro using reversing ring and a WA lens (most often, some 35mm MF), and yet no manufacturer offers an equivalent lens. I wonder why? I do understand it would be a niche product, but heck, Canon MP-E 65 does exist. It's always been a mystery to me...

Answering question in the OP: no, I haven't tried it. I use 100mm macro or, when that's not enough, a metallurgical microscope with 5x to 80x objectives.  ;)

HCS

« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 09:18:23 am »

I try that sometimes, but usually with a reversed 50mm. With a 20 you may be looking at focusing inside the rear element (which is then the front element). I think that down to 24mm should be practical, if reversed, but very, very close focusing.
Hans Cremers

Robert Ardill

• Images of Ireland
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 02:01:48 pm »