Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is this camera rig?  (Read 2783 times)

Redcrown

What is this camera rig?
« on: December 17, 2015, 03:48:11 pm »

Was in Tokyo last week. Sunday afternoon at a temple where traditional Japanese weddings are held. Continuous, one after another. Three went buy in the one hour I was there.

I was amazed at the pro photographers. The one I studied closely had a staff of 7. Three shooters with two cameras each, plus 4 assistants. And enough equipment to fill a small truck.

Wasn't till I got home and looked at my shots that I noticed this rig. I'm curious what it is used for? It's two medium format bodies mounted side-by-side. Anybody know it's purpose?

https://kellyphoto.smugmug.com/photos/i-DRZ2X8P/0/O/i-DRZ2X8P.jpg

kirkt

Re: What is this camera rig?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 03:51:52 pm »

Stereo rig?

Jimbo57

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 03:53:37 pm »

Purely a guess - for producing 3-D photographs?

Did you notice if one had a red filter and the other a green filter in front of the lens?

TonyW

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2015, 04:49:00 pm »

If I am not mistaken those are Mamiya RB67's with motor drives.  The backs are for that antique stuff called film.

I suppose that they could be for stereo but think there may be another explanation.  Being 6x7 format they can only shoot either 10 or 20 shots per roll film (120 /220 film).  Both cameras triggered by a separate bulb release.

All this suggests to me that the cameras used individually for shooting weddings when one runs out of film the other used while photog or assistant quickly removes film back and replaces with fresh

sniper

« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2015, 05:16:55 pm »

Purely a guess - for producing 3-D photographs?

Did you notice if one had a red filter and the other a green filter in front of the lens?
Thats Anaglyph 3D, it's and old process but it's starting to come back recently.

Ellis Vener

• http://www.ellisvener.com