Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Configuring an iMac  (Read 3707 times)

nvw

Configuring an iMac
« on: December 14, 2015, 05:47:15 pm »

I am configuring an iMac and have a question about storage. I'll start off by saying I am not a professional photographer so I do not have terabytes of data to store. At the moment I have about 200GB of images, 100GB of that is from this year alone and I expect to maintain that rate yearly.

My question is whether I'd be better off in the long run with 256GB of flash storage for software and use external drives for my Lightroom library or a 2TB or 3TB fusion drive and keep my library in the iMac system? An Apple adviser recommended using the 256GB flash an getting either a USB3 or Thunderbolt drive(s).

I'll still have 2 external drives for backups.

Thanks.

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Configuring an iMac
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 06:24:41 pm »

My question is whether I'd be better off in the long run with 256GB of flash storage for software and use external drives for my Lightroom library or a 2TB or 3TB fusion drive and keep my library in the iMac system?
I dedicate an entire external drive to only images, Lightroom and all it's associated files. That way, it's super easy to clone (copy) that drive to as many others as you desire. One for location, one for rotation in a fire proof safe etc. You can take any of those external drives and hook them up to any other machine (Mac or Windows) with a copy of Lightroom and you've got access to all your data.
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

nvw

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2015, 10:13:20 am »

Simple and efficient. Thanks for the suggestion. 

pflower

« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2015, 02:32:40 pm »