Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MFDB Newbie needs help from experienced members  (Read 7577 times)

Henry Goh

MFDB Newbie needs help from experienced members
« on: April 18, 2006, 12:05:34 pm »

This place is getting nicer everyday.  More old names are coming over so we need to get some contents going to make it even better.  May I be so brave as to get some discussion going?

I am a complete newbie to MF backs although I have shot 4 x 5 and Hasselblads for a long time and Nikon DSLRs for 3 years.  My question to Gurus here is what is the best and most economical way to get into MFDB from this point on?  Of course several years back the entry point must have been different but considering current products as well as decent used products available, what would your advice be?

I shoot mostly portraits and some catalog products in the studio, most of the time, if that is relevant.

Thanks in advance.

Henry

willconnor

« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 01:05:02 pm »

This place is getting nicer everyday.  More old names are coming over so we need to get some contents going to make it even better.  May I be so brave as to get some discussion going?

I am a complete newbie to MF backs although I have shot 4 x 5 and Hasselblads for a long time and Nikon DSLRs for 3 years.  My question to Gurus here is what is the best and most economical way to get into MFDB from this point on?  Of course several years back the entry point must have been different but considering current products as well as decent used products available, what would your advice be?

I shoot mostly portraits and some catalog products in the studio, most of the time, if that is relevant.

Thanks in advance.

Henry
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=62958\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Henry,  You'll save a lot if you can find a used back on ebay or wherever.  The retail value on these backs drops a lot within a  couple of years after they first come out.

Henry Goh