Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Forgotten land - Tibet  (Read 4390 times)

Ray

Forgotten land - Tibet
« on: November 20, 2015, 09:38:01 am »

That's a fascinating article by Petri Kaipiainen, for me at least. I'd love to visit Tibet, but as a keen amateur photographer I like the freedom to wander around as I please, photographing whatever takes my fancy. My impressions is that tourists in Tibet have to be accompanied by an official guide, and all excursions within the region have to be organised and planned within an official schedule. That puts me off.

I remember years ago being fascinated by the James Hilton novel, Lost Horizons, which described experiences of extreme longevity in the fictional place of 'Shangri-la', located in Tibet.

When trekking in Nepal in 1964, without guide or porter, or the benefit of hotels or lodges, I came across Tibetan refugee camps,funded by the Swiss, and took many photos of such camps. (Well, not many by digital standards. Just a few really. I was a backpacking hippie on a budget.  ;)  ) 

But those few were very significant in an emotional way when computer technology allowed me to scan the Kodochrome slides, and B&W negatives, and reveal detail I'd not seen before. I never had my own darkroom, although I'd experienced when a child, the miraculous appearance of images in my father's darkroom, which is the basis, or driving force, of my interest in Photography.

Paulo Bizarro

• http://www.paulobizarro.com
Re: Forgotten land - Tibet
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 10:17:59 am »

Indeed a fine story, with some very good photos.

Petrus

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 10:39:24 am »