Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: South America on the horizon  (Read 680 times)

timmaher

South America on the horizon
« on: November 12, 2015, 11:08:59 am »

I’ve been visiting Lula for many years but have always skulked around anonymously in the background, feeding off the wealth of knowledge so generously shared. I never felt I had much to add to any particular topic discussed by wiser heads than I and I have an instinctive recoil reaction to standing up in public and voicing my thoughts.
I’m writing now to thank the active members of this community for sharing and increasing my understanding. Your passion for the craft of photography has always acted as a tonic. It may also be partly why I am taking a creative sabbatical from my regular commercial work and setting off for a two month trek round South America, just myself and my cameras. I hope to do myself proud and maybe share my work and thoughts back to Lula, now that I’ve broken the silence. You never know, I might be one of those that never shuts up.
I’ve enjoyed spending way too long researching routes and spent too much on gear that suits the great outdoors rather than my usual studio environment. Now I just need to pack, make sure everything fits and that I can still function as a mobile unit. I was actually born in Buenos Aires and spent my childhood in Lima, but it has been a while. I still have excellently pronounced but limited Spanish, which should help a bit.