Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sony A7R II Banding Issues  (Read 7782 times)

GTPhoto

Sony A7R II Banding Issues
« on: November 09, 2015, 03:27:49 am »

Hi
I recently needed to rent a Sony A7RII for a shoot I was doing for a client in South Africa. I needed a camera that is capable of shooting in silent mode as I was shooting a wedding for a advertising campaign. As a professional I duly tested the camera before the shoot under similar conditions and found banding while shooting on both silent mode and a high ISO. After speaking to the rental house I was told this seemed to be caused by the fluorescent flicker in the lights in my office, as I was not shooting on fluorescent I thought nothing more of it  - I went ahead and after the shoot was horrified to find the banding had happened on all the imagery shot under mixed lighting conditions, due to the short battery life I had switched off the iris and back review monitors. BIG MISTAKE !!!
Sony has pulled out of South Africa and claim the camera I rented was faulty - We conducted another teat with a A7 and the same A7R II they both display banding shot whilst using silent mode.
I have closely followed Michael's reviews on this camera and would appreciate any explanation and comment form Sony
as Sony UK don't seem to want to admit this fault. A reshoot has cost me thousands of dollars - poor show SONY !!!!
Kind Regards
Gerard

AlterEgo

Re: Sony A7R II Banding Issues
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2015, 04:37:05 am »

Hi