Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Issues with Sony/Zeiss 35mm 1.4 FE  (Read 9868 times)

jhemp

• Glad to be alive and a photographer
    • Jay Hemphill Photography
Issues with Sony/Zeiss 35mm 1.4 FE
« on: October 29, 2015, 07:35:13 pm »

I'm hoping somebody can relate to what I'm dealing with.  About two weeks ago I got the Sony/Zeiss 35 1.4 for my A7RII from B&H  and right from the start something didn't feel right about lens.  The images at 1.4 were kinda soft and not that great, and even @f8 things never sharpened up across the frame.  So I sent it back for another copy after about a weeks worth of use.  I just got the new copy today and started firing off some test shots at f1.4 of my kids and the images were beautiful and sharp, MUCH better than my first copy, I was excited!!  BUT.... as soon as I started shooting things that were 10ft or so away from me I started to notice that the images were not in focus.  Everything was focusing several ft in front of the subject!  More testing proved the same that the lens only focuses correctly at close range and SEVERELY front focuses on things further away.   Example:  If I focus on my neighbors house across the street(40-50yrds) with spot center focus and take the image at f8 his house will be soft but the front of his yard in in perfect focus.
So, I thought I could try Autofocus micro adjust but the camera says this option is not valid with this lens! Grrrrr!  Now I'm trying to decide if I should send this copy back for another or go through Sony Pro service and see if it can be fixed.  I'm really just worried about getting another shitty copy of this $1600 lens!

E.J. Peiker

• http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: Issues with Sony/Zeiss 35mm 1.4 FE
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2015, 08:04:33 pm »

Micro adjust is only for A-mount lenses mounted through the LA-EA4 adapter since that adapter has it's own PDAF array in the adapter so it needs to be adjustable for varying tolerances in distance to the sensor.