Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Portable tripod shopping  (Read 1376 times)

Benny Profane

Portable tripod shopping
« on: October 17, 2015, 11:13:16 pm »

I will be at Photo Expo this week. Which tripod manufacturers should I visit who make a nice light tripod for walking around cities and the woods. Best for, max, a DSLR.

David Anderson

• http://www.twigwater.com
Re: Portable tripod shopping
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2015, 11:53:42 pm »

I just got an FLM and I'm very happy.
Price wise it's up there with the good stuff and design wise certainly worth it.
Main reason I bought it was the big 2+ meter height despite the low weight.

I did a review of it here if it helps. - FLM tripod review - dsaphoto.com

Michael N. Meyer

• Michael Nathaniel Meyer Freelance
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2015, 10:03:47 am »

I've been using a Feisol Ct-3401 for several years and been happy with it. It's sort of middle of the road in terms of weight, height, , folded length, cost and features. It'll easily handle a DSLR. Feisol makes a range of models that fit different needs, all of which are highly functional and cost effective.

The Feisol range is worth looking at. I'd make other suggestions, but honestly haven't looked at tripods since.

Hening Bettermann

• landshape.net
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2015, 05:43:00 pm »

My choice is a Gitzo GT 1531, about 1100 gr if memory serves me, and stable enough.

Benny Profane

« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2015, 06:15:03 pm »

I like the Feisol prices.

This popped up on Youtube. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LGVOOUiiTWU

Any thoughts? I'm not rich.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2015, 06:17:37 pm by Benny Profane »

macphotography08

« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2015, 12:21:57 am »

thanks for sharing.
nice information. :)
« Last Edit: October 19, 2015, 12:23:36 am by macphotography08 »

NancyP

« Reply #6 on: October 19, 2015, 03:30:59 pm »