Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: On the hobby of reproducing reality.  (Read 7939 times)

landscapephoto

On the hobby of reproducing reality.
« on: September 27, 2015, 08:40:13 am »

I used to be a sound engineer when not taking photographs. I recorded concerts, mainly classical music. For classical music, one of the objectives for the sound engineer is to sound as close as possible to the live performance.

Surprisingly few sound engineers can actually do that. Most recordings sound nothing like an actual concert. This is a continuous source of frustration for the performers, who actually know how the instruments sound like because they actually go to concerts. “Audiophiles”, on the other hand, rarely listen to music outside of their sound system, so they have no external reference points.

I’ll give an example. We recorded a piano concert. The piano is an instrument that is notoriously difficult to record and the musicians told us that it was the first time that a recording sounded like a real piano. On “audiophile” forums, our recording was criticised as “lacking dynamic” and “being almost monophonic”. I pointed out that there was only ONE piano, it was right in front of the audience and, in a concert, the sound indeed came from a single point: the piano. There. Right in front of you. Of course it sounds “almost monophonic”, because there is only ONE piano. On other recordings, less “monophonic” ones, the listener had the effect that bass notes and treble notes would be on opposite sides, but this is not what happens when one listens to a real piano unless one puts its head right into the instrument.

The “audiophiles” would not have it. They did not want a recording which sounded “almost monophonic” and mocked us.