Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Your advice on GH4 vs A7R II (and others)  (Read 7172 times)

adrjork

Your advice on GH4 vs A7R II (and others)
« on: September 14, 2015, 07:08:13 pm »

Hi guys,

I’m searching for an advice about a video-camera. Just a pair of questions.

I’m following a “video-composition for music” course in the Conservatory of Trieste, and my Prof says that I have to choose and buy a camera to begin shooting (and I’m a beginner).

I try to make the point about the specs I probably really need:
1. Low Light: I will surely shot exclusively in natural light, without reflectors or led-panels, so I need a fast camera;
2. Dynamic Range (and bit depth): working in natural light I’ll need to grade a lot in post;
3. Sharpness: I will do composing, so the image has to be well detailed;
4. Hybrid: it would be better if the camera could do stills too;
5. Workflow: I’d like to work with video-files that don’t require a super-priced-monster-mac (I’m a mac user).

After various researches and comparison tests from internet, I’ve found 4 competitors: GH4R (with V-Log), A7S, A7R2, BMCC2.5k.

GH4R vs BMCC2.5k
I’ve seen that BMCC2.5k has a wide and filmic 13 stops Dynamic Range, but it seems to me that it’s not a low-light champion, and no stills at all. On the other side, GH4 is a real hybrid camera and it outputs sharp 4K, yes it has a narrower 10 stops Dynamic Range but the new V-Log L profile should add 2 stops, and I can link the 10bit HDMI output directly to the new Atomos Assassin to match the 10bit 422 Prores of the Blackmagic, but in 4K!
So GH4 wins! (BUT the workflow of HD 10bit Prores is smoother than 4K 10bit Prores… Surely HD doesn’t need more than an iMac, while - this is my first question for you guys - grading or composing 4K requires a big bad Mac Pro, isn’t it?)

A7S vs A7R2