Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 11880 - Terrible banding, Print Head change - solved without head change  (Read 7107 times)

ismi

• Fine Art of Printing

I have been using the Epson 3880 for about 5 yrs and Epson 11880 for 3years.
Why I ended up going only for Epson? I was told it was the best for Fine Art Prints, and
I just went with it. Yes, risked all that much $$$

Epson Stylus Pro 11880 is a phenomenal printer that epson has made, in my opinion (No im not being paid by Epson for this  :P) .
I have printed for at least 8-10 exhibitions on that, from the smallest size being 2ftx1.5ft to 9ftx4ft.
Super happy with it, and will use it for at least another couple of years, until I scrutinise the results of its replacement.

For the past month and a half, I was having this really bad issue with banding.
So much so, that in just one week, I filled up one maintenance tank because of cleaning nozzles.

It started with every 4th or 5th print having very fine bands, which you probably couldnt notice unless you look closely and carefully.
I would perform the power cleaning, and it would work great again.
in about a weeks time, the bands got thicker and more prominent, and in just about every print.
Once in a while, I would get a good clean print without any bands on it.

Got in touch with the Epson service center, and they sent their technicians who checked the printer and the head,
and used some sort of a cleaning liquid on a tissue paper and placed it at the edge of the printer,
where the head goes once you switch off the printer.

After about 20 mins, they took the tissue paper out and performed a nozzle check. No Luck!
The nozzle check showed everything clean, except for the Epson Light Black (LK)
We performed a Power Cleaning and then a Nozzle Check... nope! The LK still had the bottom part blank.

And then another check, it seemed something we can deal with and we let it be.