Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question re: frame size  (Read 3316 times)

raymond bleesz

Question re: frame size
« on: July 06, 2015, 10:52:01 pm »

In the past, the largest paper size I have been using has been Hahnemuhle baryta Harmon paper 13x19 on my Epson 3800 and have used dedicated frames for this size, matt board included.

I have ordered the above paper only one size larger which would be the 17x22 which I have never used before. Because of this sized paper, what are your recommendations for proper frame sizes with some degree of proper matt board included.  Raymond

BradSmith

Re: Question re: frame size
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2015, 01:59:36 pm »

It depends on how large you plan to print your image on that paper, what aspect ratio you intend to print them to, and what sized matt widths you want to see around your image.  In other words, you've got to figure all those things out first, and then that will lead you to possible frame sizes. 

JayWPage

• Jay W Page Photography
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 02:12:44 pm »

If using pre-cut mats and off the shelf frames is important, then printing 13" x 19" images on your 17" x 22" paper works well for framing with an 18" x 24" frame. This gives you a reasonable border with room to sign the print, and space at the top for hinges.
Jay W Page

dwswager

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2015, 04:55:44 pm »

In the past, the largest paper size I have been using has been Hahnemuhle baryta Harmon paper 13x19 on my Epson 3800 and have used dedicated frames for this size, matt board included.

I have ordered the above paper only one size larger which would be the 17x22 which I have never used before. Because of this sized paper, what are your recommendations for proper frame sizes with some degree of proper matt board included.  Raymond

I custom cut my mats now so I go with what works best with the photo aspect ratio.  You will find various frame sizes that will hold a 16x20 to 17x22 inch prints.