Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FT: Pentax 645Z + 55mm 2.8 For Your CCD MFDB (CAN)  (Read 2186 times)

chrisbodnarphoto

FT: Pentax 645Z + 55mm 2.8 For Your CCD MFDB (CAN)
« on: June 17, 2015, 03:50:46 pm »

Hello folks!

Just curious to see what fine LuLa folk might be interested in trading my 645Z (9/10) + 55mm DFA (9.5/10) for their CCD-based MFDB kit.  

I'm willing to pay a little more to get something a little higher end (FF would be ideal), but my budget can't go too much higher than the initial trade.  You can thank the newest addition to our family (my son Lachlan) + a recent investment in Broncolor gear for that.  :)

A little background before people ask why I'm crazy:

I'm primarily a hybrid wedding photographer by trade, shooting both film (70%) and digital (30%) for my wedding work.  I also happen to own a film photography lab - Caribou Film Lab - here in Toronto, which allows me to keep film in my budget.  My film setup for my wedding work revolves are a Pentax 645n, and when I decided to add a new digital body for my wedding work, the 645Z was a natural addition.

I've found it doesn't quite cut it for me on wedding days, however.  The IQ is fantastic, to say the least, but the way one must absolutely nail focus is so much more apparent with digital than it is with film.  While I manually focus all of my film-based work (important when things are hectic!), I find that I can't come close to doing the same with the 645Z, and my keeper rate is far lower than I anticipated.  Hence I've decided that it might be time to shoot more 35mm digital at weddings (modern AF and all that), and ditch the 645Z.