Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mirror lockup  (Read 3715 times)

keithrsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
Mirror lockup
« on: February 11, 2006, 06:11:59 AM »

It occurs to me

Why don't DSLR's lock the mirror up when you close the eyepiece curtain? -

It would save all the fiddleing with menu's

keith
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
Mirror lockup
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2006, 01:13:10 PM »

Some companies do but not Canon. Canon finds it more important to engineer useless direct to print buttons on their new cameras instead.
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7785
Mirror lockup
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2006, 01:17:17 PM »

Only the 1D body serie has an eyepiece curtain. Other bodies must use a plastic cap,  attached to the neck strap. And yes, Daniel is right, putting a Print button must be an interesting challenge for Canon engineers  
« Last Edit: February 11, 2006, 01:17:54 PM by francois »
Logged
Francois

Saulius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://
Mirror lockup
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2006, 09:22:19 AM »

Hi everyone. I am new at this site. I am amateur photograper. My passion is nature photography.  I own Nikon F75. This is maximum that I can afford to myself at the moment and in near future have no possibility for better camera. I Have read on this site about MLU. Unfortunately, my camera, has not that "option".
My question is:
1. can I expect to fix sharpeness of a picture in Photoshop if there is no way to lock the mirrow in my camera?
2. If I`d tackle hard my camera to a heavy tripod would it help? Or should I think about different camera anyway?

Any coments, please...

Thanks

Saulius
Logged

61Dynamic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1442
    • http://
Mirror lockup
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2006, 12:12:00 PM »

Quote
Hi everyone. I am new at this site. I am amateur photograper. My passion is nature photography.  I own Nikon F75. This is maximum that I can afford to myself at the moment and in near future have no possibility for better camera. I Have read on this site about MLU. Unfortunately, my camera, has not that "option".
My question is:
1. can I expect to fix sharpeness of a picture in Photoshop if there is no way to lock the mirrow in my camera?
2. If I`d tackle hard my camera to a heavy tripod would it help? Or should I think about different camera anyway?

Any coments, please...

Thanks

Saulius
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=58036\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

1. Depends. If the lack of sharpness is small, you could compensate in PS. However, sharpening in PS is not actually sharpening. It is merely increasing edge contrast giving the illusion of more sharpness. You can only fix sharpness if detail exists to begin with.

2. A sturdy (not necessarily heavy) tripod helps allot as does not extending the center column if possible. A cable release is a must too. Simply wait a few seconds for the tripod to settle down and then trip the shutter with the cable release.

If you are using short lenses, then MLU won't be much of a benefit if at all. Focal lengths beyond 50mm is where MLU is most useful.
Logged

Lisa Nikodym

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1706
    • http://www.stanford.edu/~melkor/lisa_pictures/lisa_pictures.html
Mirror lockup
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2006, 05:40:09 PM »

If your camera doesn't have MLU, the best way to avoid blurriness problems is to avoid shutter speeds where mirror-induced vibrations are a problem, which are something like 1/8 second to 1 second.  You can go either faster or slower, just avoid that range.  Modifying your tripod won't really help with that.

Lisa
« Last Edit: February 13, 2006, 05:41:05 PM by nniko »
Logged

Kenneth Sky

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 424
    • http://
Mirror lockup
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2006, 05:46:10 PM »

There's always a K-M 7D which has MLU just by setting the 2 sec. delay. Here's hoping Sony picks up that feature when they introduce their dSLR this summer. Canon sure isn't listening to consumers.
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9299
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Mirror lockup
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2006, 06:06:56 PM »

Quote
Canon sure isn't listening to consumers.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=58080\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Or they are, but are not listening to "customers"?

Regards,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

Saulius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://
Mirror lockup
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2006, 03:03:46 AM »

Thanks to everyone for information.

Saulius
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up