Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DXo Optics Pro question  (Read 4180 times)

David R. Gurtcheff

DXo Optics Pro question
« on: February 09, 2006, 02:53:47 pm »

I enjoyed reading Alain Briot's review of Optics Pro, and I purchased it. Alain states he usually initially uses the Fully Automatic setting, then later fine tunes his images in both Optics Pro, and Photoshop. I would like also to break in my learning curve using Fully Auto. My problem is that Fully Auto setting's defaults are JPEG output with 90% quality factor. Doesn't JPEG output negate using a high end digital camera and shooting RAW? Is there anyway to use fully auto, and have the output as a TIFF (which I assume would be higher quality)? Also the default is sRGB, whereas I have been using Adobe RGB as my working space. Any help here? As you can see I am NEW to DXo, so please forgive what may be stupid or obvious questions.
Thanks ijn advance.
Dave

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
DXo Optics Pro question
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2006, 01:24:24 am »

My understanding is that you should use the advanced mode, leave all settings at their default value (it will therefore behave as the fully automatic mode), except those that affect the save format.

In the save tab (forgot the real name of the tab and don't have access to DxO now), you have 3 sub-tabs, one for jpg, one for tiff and one for DNG.

You can output in more than one format, and control the various settings for each format.

Regards,
Bernard

alainbriot

• http://www.beautiful-landscape.com
    • http://www.beautiful-landscape.com
DXo Optics Pro question
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 04:34:50 am »

My understanding is that you should use the advanced mode, leave all settings at their default value (it will therefore behave as the fully automatic mode), except those that affect the save format.