Luminous Landscape Forum

Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Adobe Lightroom Q&A => Topic started by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 04:12:32 AM

Title: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 04:12:32 AM
The release version is now available for download.

So far I can't find anything new that wasn't in the beta, so it's a bit disappointing that unlike previous releases there's no new treats we haven't seen.

No help file though, it just goes to the LR4 help system.

Edit addition;
I see in the LR journal of Adobe I'm wrong. I missed:-
"Share your photos using the Behance Publish Service" and "Expanded the range of Radial Filter’s feather slider"
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 05:53:15 AM
I don't think anyone else has noticed, and it's not documented, but AutoSync now affects local adjustments (http://lightroomsolutions.com/lightroom-5-favourite-no-5-autosync-and-local-adjustments/). For me that's a treat - a huge timesaver.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 06:12:06 AM
I guess that's one of the 400 bug fixes they mention.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 06:20:14 AM
No, I have always felt it was a dumbed-down design choice. If anything, this new behaviour may be the bug.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Tony Jay on June 10, 2013, 06:48:49 AM
Well John, the changes to 'filter keywords' function that you have also highlighted are very useful.

Tony Jay
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 06:54:30 AM
Maybe more so for you hierarchical keyword fans, Tony!

John
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 07:06:25 AM
Some improvements to improve the ease and speed of adding keywords are LONG overdue.

If Adobe want the DAM features of LR to be taken seriously, and they're a major factor in tying people into the product long term, they need to keep developing the feature set.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 07:09:53 AM
Agreed, though I might just question how many people run up against limitations in that area.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Simon J.A. Simpson on June 10, 2013, 09:02:35 AM
Also available on subscription.

From the Adobe website – http://adobe.ly/12ARtIG (http://adobe.ly/12ARtIG)
“From first look to final image, Adobe® Photoshop® Lightroom® 5 makes everything about digital photography easier, faster, and more amazing. Perfect your shots with powerful new adjustment tools like the Advanced Healing Brush. Efficiently organize all your photos and share them almost anywhere. And now that Lightroom is also available in Adobe Creative Cloud™, making good shots great is only the beginning.” (my emphasis)

But I’m not sure how making Lightroom available on subscription makes “good shots great” ?!   ;D
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 09:40:34 AM
Ah, but it did go on to say that "is only the beginning". After all, you can share them in your Behance portfolio ;)
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 09:47:17 AM
After all, you can share them in your Behance portfolio ;)
How have I lived without that all these years ?

What's behance anyway ?
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Remo Nonaz on June 10, 2013, 09:48:39 AM
I don't see where Adobe is offering Lightroom on a subscription basis, unless it is included in the full multi-package Creative Cloud. At $50 a month, that would be an expensive way to get an $80 software upgrade!

I think Adobe could make a lot of photographers very happy (and quiet down all the noise about CC) if they offered the Photoshop, single application, with Lightroom  at (or close to) the single application subscription price of $20/month. I would certainly take that offer.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 10:18:33 AM
I don't see where Adobe is offering Lightroom on a subscription basis, unless it is included in the full multi-package Creative Cloud.
From what I've read LR isn't available as a single app via CC, only as a part of the whole suite.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: RFPhotography on June 10, 2013, 10:21:54 AM
I don't see where Adobe is offering Lightroom on a subscription basis, unless it is included in the full multi-package Creative Cloud. At $50 a month, that would be an expensive way to get an $80 software upgrade!

I think Adobe could make a lot of photographers very happy (and quiet down all the noise about CC) if they offered the Photoshop, single application, with Lightroom  at (or close to) the single application subscription price of $20/month. I would certainly take that offer.

Don't know if this will be the case with future releases but LR5 is a free update for CC members. 
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Remo Nonaz on June 10, 2013, 10:38:26 AM
Is that with the single application license or the full Creative Suite license?
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 10:52:16 AM
Full
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: SangRaal on June 10, 2013, 11:12:55 AM
You might want to take notice that you can no longer buy the up date to Lightroom on Disc (you could with 4); also it looks like you have to buy a license for each individual computer you put it up on.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: StuartOnline on June 10, 2013, 11:32:16 AM
You might want to take notice that you can no longer buy the up date to Lightroom on Disc (you could with 4); also it looks like you have to buy a license for each individual computer you put it up on.

According to BH Photo http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/buy/Adobe-Lightroom-5/ci/21801/N/4030778802?cm_mmc=EML-_-NewAnnouncement-AdobeLightroom5andEvent-_-130610-_-Body_Retail_PreOrder

They will have the box version starting June 13th. So it looks like you can still get the Disc version. BH will have the update version and full version available.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Schewe on June 10, 2013, 11:38:17 AM
also it looks like you have to buy a license for each individual computer you put it up on.

Pretty sure the license still allows installation on 2 computers and the serial numbers are cross platform.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: PhotoEcosse on June 10, 2013, 11:41:16 AM
As usual, Adobe's tax-avoiding strategy of basing its "UK" headquarters in Ireland means that UK consumers are charged VAT at the Irish rate of 23% if they buy a download.

The answer is to download a trial version then buy the boxed set from Amazon.co.uk, post-free and at the proper British tax rate and then enter the registration key from the boxed version into the download within the 30 days of the trial period.


.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 11:46:25 AM
also it looks like you have to buy a license for each individual computer you put it up on.
Incorrect. If you read the EULA 2.1.3;
"Portable or Home Computer Use. Subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 2.1.4, the primary user of the Computer on which the Software is installed under Section 2.1 (“Primary User”) may install a second copy of the Software for his or her exclusive use on either a portable Computer or a Computer located at his or her home, provided that the Software on the portable or home Computer is not used at the same time as the Software on the primary Computer."
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 11:51:56 AM
What's behance anyway ?
Ahh right. http://www.behance.net

"Part of the Adobe family"   that explains it then.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 12:05:52 PM
Sadly it looks like there a few new bugs with 5;
http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1229132?tstart=0

See the lack of NR here on smaller output.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Steve Weldon on June 10, 2013, 01:34:38 PM
Also available on subscription.

From the Adobe website – http://adobe.ly/12ARtIG (http://adobe.ly/12ARtIG)
“From first look to final image, Adobe® Photoshop® Lightroom® 5 makes everything about digital photography easier, faster, and more amazing. Perfect your shots with powerful new adjustment tools like the Advanced Healing Brush. Efficiently organize all your photos and share them almost anywhere. And now that Lightroom is also available in Adobe Creative Cloud™, making good shots great is only the beginning.” (my emphasis)

But I’m not sure how making Lightroom available on subscription makes “good shots great” ?!   ;D
I was disappointed in Adobe to see the only email they've sent me to date only talks about the CC version and everywhere you click only takes you to the CC version.  I had to manually input the LR page URL to buy a non CC upgrade.

A cheap way to promote CC  imo  and could even be telling on how confident they are of the CC model.   

How nice it would have been to see separate emails each promoting a different version (w/links) or just one promoting both and comparing them.    Cheap marketing tricks won't win this one for them.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: E.J. Peiker on June 10, 2013, 02:13:56 PM
If true, potentially a very serious bug:
http://regex.info/blog/2013-06-10/2268
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: kikashi on June 10, 2013, 02:20:02 PM
As usual, Adobe's tax-avoiding strategy of basing its "UK" headquarters in Ireland means that UK consumers are charged VAT at the Irish rate of 23% if they buy a download.

The answer is to download a trial version then buy the boxed set from Amazon.co.uk, post-free and at the proper British tax rate and then enter the registration key from the boxed version into the download within the 30 days of the trial period.

And you will save ... £1.41.

Jeremy
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: stevebri on June 10, 2013, 02:49:40 PM
Another UK/Eu/USA note on pricing...

If I upgrade from version 4 via Adobe.com it's $149.95 (in the UK that's roughly £100, exchange rate has been like this for a few yrs... plus or minus).
If I upgrade on the UK site, even paying Ireland's 23% it's still £57.64... Big difference.

However, in typing this, flicking between Adobe's sites I've lost more than that... ;)

S
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 03:08:39 PM
And you will save ... £1.41.
and have a nice warm glow knowing the money is going to your government rather than funding another country's services.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 10, 2013, 03:26:12 PM
and have a nice warm glow knowing the money is going to your government rather than funding another country's services.
Since when did Amazon.co.uk pay UK tax?
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Rhossydd on June 10, 2013, 03:30:44 PM
Since when did Amazon.co.uk pay UK tax?
They've always had to pass on VAT charged at 20%, they just side step corporation tax via off shore havens.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Robert55 on June 10, 2013, 03:49:24 PM
deleted - got caught up nto too many tabs
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Leszek Piotrowski on June 10, 2013, 04:08:52 PM

I think Adobe could make a lot of photographers very happy (and quiet down all the noise about CC) if they offered the Photoshop, single application, with Lightroom  at (or close to) the single application subscription price of $20/month. I would certainly take that offer.

Yes, I'd seriously consider that type of offer as well.

Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Nigel Johnson on June 10, 2013, 06:05:06 PM
If I upgrade from version 4 via Adobe.com it's $149.95 (in the UK that's roughly £100, exchange rate has been like this for a few yrs... plus or minus).

Steve,

I am not certain where you got this price, just checked and you are wrong, the upgrade price is US $79.00 on Adobe.com, the full non-upgrade price is US $149.00. Therefore the upgrade pre-tax price is fairly similar between the US and UK.

Regards,
Nigel
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Adam L on June 10, 2013, 06:25:42 PM
I'm installing my copy now.   It's taking a long time to update the catalog - it says it is preparing new searchable data.  I don't keyword anything.  I simply keep pics by date all in one large catalog.  For 8 core and 24GB are not helping this much at all.   I must say I am looking forward to the new brush tool.  And I'll get to see how bad my eyes are with alignment.   
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Box Brownie on June 10, 2013, 06:42:15 PM
Now I can find the "buy" for the downloadable version but I do like to have a physical product so can anyone say definitively if Adobe will be releasing this or is at v5 the end of retail packs???

Looking ahead (retail or download) can I surmise that the installation of the upgrade is like when I went from LR3 to LR4 in that it asks if you wish to import (or was it use???) the LR4 catalogue.................it then makes a copy of that catalogue such that the original LR4 one is left in tact???

On a side note I realised that I had not registered my LR4 upgrade, I did this on the Adobe site and it "told" it had already been registered.........................now to be frank I cannot recall if I had done this before but one thing for sure there is no LR listed on my products list unlike my CS2, CS5 and now CS6 so if I have already registered the LR4 why does it not show on the 'my products list' ???
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: W.T. Jones on June 10, 2013, 07:24:05 PM
Looks pretty good, I like the radial grad filter brush very much. I have not played with the upright feature yet, but it looks useful. I did notice the speed is very good & it does not bog down my computer. So things seem to have improved in that aspect.  It looks like the catalog updated nicely, all is running well.

I guess I will wait & see what Jeff & Mike have to say about the rest of the new features.

I, like someone in another post noticed the Process Version warning was gone in the develop mode. I am not real sure if that is going to effect me or not, I am guessing not.



Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: aduke on June 10, 2013, 07:57:28 PM
Looks pretty good, I like the radial grad filter brush very much. I have not played with the upright feature yet, but it looks useful. I did notice the speed is very good & it does not bog down my computer. So things seem to have improved in that aspect.  It looks like the catalog updated nicely, all is running well.

I guess I will wait & see what Jeff & Mike have to say about the rest of the new features.

I, like someone in another post noticed the Process Version warning was gone in the develop mode. I am not real sure if that is going to effect me or not, I am guessing not.





Its not gone, its just been moved. Now you  can find it in the lower right corner of the histogram in the develop module. When you hover over it, it reports the image's current version.

Alan
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Glenn NK on June 11, 2013, 12:12:25 AM
If true, potentially a very serious bug:
http://regex.info/blog/2013-06-10/2268


E.J posted that on the Naturescapes site, and also suggested (rightly I believe) that one should wait until version 5.1 is issued - IOW don't install the current version.  I won't - you other guys can be the beta testers now 8).

http://www.naturescapes.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=233500

Glenn
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: CASpyr on June 11, 2013, 03:11:59 AM

Looking ahead (retail or download) can I surmise that the installation of the upgrade is like when I went from LR3 to LR4 in that it asks if you wish to import (or was it use???) the LR4 catalogue.................it then makes a copy of that catalogue such that the original LR4 one is left in tact???


Yes. When you open your LR4 catalog in LR5, it says that the catalog will need to be upgraded. If you proceed, it will make a copy (you can choose the location and the name of the new catalog) and start working on the conversion. This will take quite a while (in my case it took something like 20 minutes). The LR 4 catalog will be unaffected by any of this.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: kikashi on June 11, 2013, 03:31:01 AM
On a side note I realised that I had not registered my LR4 upgrade, I did this on the Adobe site and it "told" it had already been registered...

Maybe Adobe talks to the NSA.

Jeremy
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: J. Paul on June 11, 2013, 02:36:24 PM
I have been a Lightroom user since the very first early Beta versions and had decided to upgrade (and actually downloaded) Lightroom 5, only to find out that it won't work with my version of OSX 10.6.8.  I have everything running so smoothly and my workflow is so smooth with my existing version 4.4 that I just don't won't to take the chance with a new operating system.  I know I will eventually have to make a move but there are no compelling/must have features in Lightroom 5 that I want to go to the trouble.  I will continue to use Lightroom 4.4 but will probably now add Capture One Pro 7 and do some testing with it.
J. Paul
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: E.J. Peiker on June 11, 2013, 05:40:03 PM
Maybe Adobe talks to the NSA.

Jeremy

They definitely talk with Treasury - ever try taking a full frame picture of US Currency and then opening it up in Photoshop?  PS won't open it giving you a warning.
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Box Brownie on June 11, 2013, 06:09:28 PM
Amazon UK now list the DVD version as "pre order" available 20th June at slightly more than Adobe show the download cost, so I wonder if Adobe will because of the CC model for every other product even offer the DVD version i.e. just use the retail network for distribution???
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Simon J.A. Simpson on June 12, 2013, 05:38:01 AM
They definitely talk with Treasury - ever try taking a full frame picture of US Currency and then opening it up in Photoshop?  PS won't open it giving you a warning.

Blimey, and I was using Photoshop to print my own currency.
(NSA and any others snooping – please note this was only a joke)
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Phil Indeblanc on June 12, 2013, 05:01:49 PM
Interesting how you feel you have to mention this is only a joke.
Sounds like you fear of getting that certain knock on your door.

what a state we are in!
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: Wayne Fox on June 12, 2013, 09:39:55 PM
I have been a Lightroom user since the very first early Beta versions and had decided to upgrade (and actually downloaded) Lightroom 5, only to find out that it won't work with my version of OSX 10.6.8.  I have everything running so smoothly and my workflow is so smooth with my existing version 4.4 that I just don't won't to take the chance with a new operating system.  I know I will eventually have to make a move but there are no compelling/must have features in Lightroom 5 that I want to go to the trouble.  I will continue to use Lightroom 4.4 but will probably now add Capture One Pro 7 and do some testing with it.
J. Paul
Certainly your logic of "if it ain't broke don't fix it", but I think your fears are a little unfounded. Mountain Lion is a year old, is on it's 4th release, and most of the issues with Leopard/snow leopard had to do with printing, and weren't issues when moving on to Lion and Mountain Lion - once you solved them you were fine because the printing pipeline really didn't change with Lion. 

There are over 1500 api's and other tools available to developers to tweak more features and performance out of their apps than previous OS's, and LR 5 and other programs are leveraging those. 


Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: BernardLanguillier on June 13, 2013, 11:00:59 PM
Interesting how you feel you have to mention this is only a joke.
Sounds like you fear of getting that certain knock on your door.

what a state we are in!

This reminds me of the amazing novel "The Joke" from Milan Kundera.

It focuses on the lack of sense of humor of dictatorships and how it can dramatically impact people's lives.  ;)

Cheers,
Bernard
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: CatOne on June 14, 2013, 10:16:31 AM
Certainly your logic of "if it ain't broke don't fix it", but I think your fears are a little unfounded. Mountain Lion is a year old, is on it's 4th release...


It's now at 10.8.4.  That's technically its "fifth release"  ;)
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: msoon on June 19, 2013, 05:40:26 AM
Hey guys, does anyone know if the new Lightroom 5 supports the D600 in tethered mode yet?
Title: Re: Lightroom 5 now available
Post by: john beardsworth on June 19, 2013, 12:21:32 PM
See http://blogs.adobe.com/lightroomjournal/2013/06/lightroom-5-now-available.html
Title: LR5 to LR4
Post by: Larry451 on June 19, 2013, 12:34:53 PM
I'm considering buying LR5 to use on my main/working mac(10.7.5), but my concern is printing..  I use an older mac (10.6.8) as a print server for my 7900.  would transferring files from LR 5 to LR 4 change my tif file when printing? 
thanks
Larry.