Luminous Landscape Forum

Raw & Post Processing, Printing => Printing: Printers, Papers and Inks => Topic started by: walter.sk on November 25, 2007, 02:21:03 PM

Title: Z3100ps:Any way around fixed margins?
Post by: walter.sk on November 25, 2007, 02:21:03 PM
Until I got the Z3100, I printed on 13x19 sheets on an old Epson desktop printer.  I was able to select "Maximum Size" in the printer driver, which brought a warning message that print quality beyond the "normal" border might be degraded.  I printed from Qimage, and was able to get centered prints within about 1/8" from the paper edges.

With the Z3100 and Qimage, which I use because I don't have a 3rd party RIP, I'm able to place images as I want on both sheets and roll paper.  However the printer insists on a wider margin on one side of the sheet, and if I want the print centered, it has to be at a smaller size, based on the printer's choice as maximum print size.

Is there a workaround, or am I a prisoner of what HP thinks the margins should be?
Title: Z3100ps:Any way around fixed margins?
Post by: rdonson on November 25, 2007, 02:49:15 PM
How do you have things set up in the print driver?

(http://www.shutterfreaks.com/gallery21/main.php/d/23015-2/Z3100_driver_layout_and_margins.jpg)

(http://www.shutterfreaks.com/gallery21/main.php/d/37971-1/Z3100driver-features.jpg)
Title: Z3100ps:Any way around fixed margins?
Post by: alanmcf on November 25, 2007, 08:43:40 PM
Quote
How do you have things set up in the print driver?
My Epson 2200 has the "maximum size" option which I always set. The result on matte paper was that everything was centered with about 1/8" margins all around if the image proportions were right.

With the Z3100 there is always about 3/4" across the bottom of a 8.5x11 or a 13x19 sheet that I thought I was stuck with. Ron... can you explain the Standard, Oversize and ClipContentsByMargins that I had never seen before (the HP explanations do not make much sense)... i.e. is it possible to get rid of that 3/4"?

Thanks, Alan

Sorry for the lazy desire to not run a bunch of tests
Title: Z3100ps:Any way around fixed margins?
Post by: walter.sk on November 25, 2007, 08:44:46 PM
Thanks for the screen shots.  Using sheet paper rather than a roll, I was able to select "Clip Contents by Margins, but on the Features tab, the "Remove Top/Bottom blank Areas was grayed out.  Newvertheless, the image I printed came out centered on the page, so I guess I'm headed in the right direction.


Quote
How do you have things set up in the print driver?

(http://www.shutterfreaks.com/gallery21/main.php/d/23015-2/Z3100_driver_layout_and_margins.jpg)

(http://www.shutterfreaks.com/gallery21/main.php/d/37971-1/Z3100driver-features.jpg)
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155854\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Title: Z3100ps:Any way around fixed margins?
Post by: rdonson on November 26, 2007, 09:55:19 AM
Quote
Thanks for the screen shots.  Using sheet paper rather than a roll, I was able to select "Clip Contents by Margins, but on the Features tab, the "Remove Top/Bottom blank Areas was grayed out.  Newvertheless, the image I printed came out centered on the page, so I guess I'm headed in the right direction.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=155961\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'm glad to hear that you've made some progress.  My guess is that "Remove Top/Bottom blank areas" was grayed out because you were using sheets instead of a roll.